Deleting Gmail Messages in Outlook

Gmail is very specific when it comes to deleting vs. archiving in mail clients such as Outlook. When a message is “expunged” in Outlook, the default Gmail action is to archive it (so it still shows up in All Mail) rather than deleting it. You can change this behavior in Gmail itself.

  1. Go to Gmail’s settings (or via this link).
  2. In the IMAP Access section, select the following options:
    • When I mark a message in IMAP as deleted:

Auto-Expunge off – Wait for the client to update the server.

    • When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder:

Move the message to the Trash

2014-04-07_8-14-04

 

I had no idea that Gmail is this particular…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s